Sweets for the Sweet

double ginger biscotti

On Christmas Eve when my man set my wrapped gift under the tree, he placed another present down with it. Although I had only met her once, his grandmother sent me a set of four glittery red boxes filled with saltwater taffy, caramel corn, and peanut brittle. How sweet! (No pun intended…)  

 

double ginger biscotti

 

I wanted to thank her in my own special way: by baking her cookies. Yet sugar cravings don’t seem to run rampant in his family as they do in mine, so I envisioned something a little more subtle with a slight spicy streak.

 

double ginger biscotti

 

The next day, I mixed up a batch of biscotti as the rest of my family tossed reindeer wrapping paper and shiny green bows around the living room. The cookies’ spicy aroma filled the house, but I denied everyone a taste to ensure I had enough to properly thank Sweet Grandma. With their perfect ginger kick and soft crunch, I couldn’t resist baking more—this time to share!

 

double ginger biscotti

 

Double Ginger Biscotti

modified from this recipe

makes about 2 dozen cookies

These are perfect for dunking in coffee, tea, or even hot chocolate! They’ll keep for a few days if stored in an airtight container.

1 c. + 1 tbsp flour

½ tsp baking powder

⅛ tsp salt

1/16 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp ground ginger

2 tbsp diced crystallized ginger (about 4 small pieces)

1 egg + 1 egg white (or 1 tbsp Ener-G + ¼ c. water)

½ c. sugar

2 tsp almond extract

  1. Preheat the oven to 325° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and ground ginger. Stir in the crystallized ginger until it’s coated with the flour mixture. In a medium bowl, beat together the eggs (or Ener-G and water), sugar, and almond extract. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and stir until just incorporated.
  3. Pour the batter onto the parchment paper into a rectangle, about 2” wide and 12-14” long. Bake at 325° for 25-30 min, or until firm and not yet golden. Remove the parchment paper from the baking sheet, and cool on a wire rack for 10 min.
  4. Reduce the oven temperature to 300°, and line the baking sheet with a fresh sheet of parchment paper.
  5. Slice the cooled cookie rectangle into diagonal strips about ½” wide. Place the strips upright on the new parchment paper, and bake at 300° for 25-30 min or until light golden and crisp. Cool on the pan for 3 min before moving them to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

double ginger biscotti

 

January 9, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , . Baked Bliss, Delicious Desserts.

18 Comments

  1. Liz replied:

    so sweet of YOU! This man you have is a good one–donut maker for Christmas and his grandma sends you candy:-) Biscotti rock and these look especially yum.

    • foods for the soul replied:

      Thanks! I love biscotti too, especially because they give me an excuse to eat cookies for breakfast. And I’m so lucky they’ve included me in their family!!

  2. everythingfoody replied:

    Love love love crystalized ginger. It should be used more often! Will be trying this out in the next couple of days. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

    • foods for the soul replied:

      I love it too! I only discovered it last month when I made ginger fudge, but now I want to add it to everything! I’m thinking about adding crystallized ginger to my favorite gingersnap recipe to imitate Trader Joe’s triple ginger cookies. We’re addicted to them!

  3. mrswebbinthekitchen replied:

    I love biscotti for being subtly sweet- even my mother in law, who never touches dessert, was stealing the biscotti that I made for her kids at Christmas! I love your ginger version… I bet Grandma loved it!

    • foods for the soul replied:

      I would’ve stolen your biscotti too; it was the perfect combination of chocolate and crunchy cookie! I was partially inspired by you to add the ginger because you had talked about it for your cake. It turned out well, so thank you!

  4. Colleen replied:

    That is very sweet of her! The biscotti look delicious with all the ginger.

  5. Brittany replied:

    What a sweet idea from both of you!! I bet these biscotti were a hit with her! They sound delicious.

    • foods for the soul replied:

      Thanks! I haven’t seen her since Christmas, so I’m not sure. But I’m hoping no news is good news! (As in she didn’t break her teeth on one or anything…)

  6. Carole's Chatter replied:

    Hi there. Food on Friday: Ginger is open for entries. This looks like a good one! I do hope you link it in. This is the link . Please do pop back to check out some of the other links. Happy New Year!

  7. Julia | JuliasAlbum.com replied:

    You’re making me hungry! I want these for lunch right now!

    • foods for the soul replied:

      If I could, I’d mail them to you… Or better yet, email them! That’d be a little faster than snail mail. :]

  8. Carole's Chatter replied:

    Amy, thank you for linking this in to Food on Friday. We are now getting a great collection of dishes using ginger together. I hope you have stopped by some of the other links to check them out!

    Ps I have just signed up to follow your blog on Google Reader. A follow back to Carole’s Chatter would be wonderful – or have you already followed? Cheers

    Ps If you would like email reminders of future Food on Fridays, just pop by and comment and include your email – I won’t publish it – and the reminder will be by bcc so it will remain private

    • foods for the soul replied:

      Your Food on Fridays idea is such a great one, and I hope each is more successful than the last!

  9. daisyandthefox replied:

    double ginger – yummmm! this look great!

  10. Amanda replied:

    These look so good! I really want to try one!!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI